Search All Book Reviews
Title
Author
Stars

Search will return a maximum of 100 results.
1234Page 1 of 4


Small Great Things By Jodi Picoult

Loved it! Not a comfortable book to read, but worth it. And was even gifted with an ending I didnt see coming.
 
 


Pathways To Bliss Mythology And Personal Transformation
by Joseph Campbell


When reading this book, one should be aware that this is compilation of lectures put into a collection after Campbell's death, rather than a linear discussion that was laid out by Campbell himself. The format that the lectures are constructed, coupled with Campbell's well known way of mercurial speaking, is meant to illicit a response from the reader in a way to provoke them into thought rather than giving a direct suggestion of how to go about one's life. While Campbell's thoughts on the matter prove interesting, it is important to remember that they are tempered with antiquated anthropological concepts, coupled with Freudian and Jungian ideas in regards to human psychology, which are currently contested concepts. Overall, the book itself has value in the methodology behind the way Campbell relates myths and general storytelling to one's personal life. While any story can have diverging interpretations, Campbell interpreted the myths he studied into his own life. With a critical view, one can tell that Campbell's personal biases leaked into the way he viewed certain myths, as it does with many. if not all, people. While some of the views Campbell held would be objectionable today, it is important to remember that he was educated and lived in the early 20th century. A time when these views were acceptable. Regardless of these flaws, the book is overall worth paging through for the basic ideas behind the perception of stories and narratives. While I personally disagree with many things Campbell states in these lectures, I would firmly believe that he would have expected many people to take issue and disagree with him. This book proves its best use this way. Not taking Campbell's word as finite in the interpretation of a specific myth, but to rather take his form of thinking and use it to devise your own idea on the matter.
 
 


Phasma
by Delilah Dawson


One of my favorite characters, It is a great book.
 
 


Ashfall
by Mike Mullin


Good story. I liked the people and the action.
 
 


Administration And Supervision Of Reading Programs
by Jack Cassidy


It was helpful. It had good information to understand different reading programs.
 
 


The Sweetness Run
by Wendys Donuts


This Kindle book would be perfect for fans of South Park and Family Guy. Unfortunately, I am not that person.
 
 


Bob Books
by Bobby Lynn Maslen


I have been searching for a set of VERY easy readers for my 4.5 year old!! This set is absolutely perfect. We’re working our way through level one and she is SO proud that she can read them all by herself! I like how they slowly introduce new sounds and have a page at the beginning of each book that tells what sounds are introduced each time. This set has been a huge confidence builder for my beginning reader!!
 
 


Bob Books
by Bobby Lynn Maslen


I have been searching for a set of VERY easy readers for my 4.5 year old!! This set is absolutely perfect. We’re working our way through level one and she is SO proud that she can read them all by herself! I like how they slowly introduce new sounds and have a page at the beginning of each book that tells what sounds are introduced each time. This set has been a huge confidence builder for my beginning reader!!
 
 


No More Monsters For Me
by Peggy Parish


My 4.5 year old give this 5 Stars... when we finished she hugged the book and asked if we can keep it in our forever collection! The story is about a young girl who gets in an argument with her mom about getting a pet. She tells right off that her and Mom often yell at each other. She storms out to cool off and finds a baby monster. After she brings it home, hides it from Mom, she discovers time and again how a monster Just isn’t a good pet. I liked that this is a quick easy read with a little more depth than your standard easy reader. There’s real conflict between the child and her mom, the yearning for a pet, learning about what makes an impractical pet and finally an understanding between Mom and daughter. Though Mom never believed her when she fessed up to bringing a monster home, she came to see a little bit from her daughters perspective which opened the door to conversation and understanding rather than yelling. My own daughter has been begging for a pet for about 2 years and lord knows we’ve had our disagreements. So I feel like this story resonated in her little mind a bit and left her lots to think about when she fell asleep. It’s a very simple, easy reader story. But I enjoyed the depth the author captured in it and apparently so did my oldest.
 
 


No More Monsters For Me
by Peggy Parish


My 4.5 year old give this 5 Stars... when we finished she hugged the book and asked if we can keep it in our forever collection! The story is about a young girl who gets in an argument with her mom about getting a pet. She tells right off that her and Mom often yell at each other. She storms out to cool off and finds a baby monster. After she brings it home, hides it from Mom, she discovers time and again how a monster Just isn’t a good pet. I liked that this is a quick easy read with a little more depth than your standard easy reader. There’s real conflict between the child and her mom, the yearning for a pet, learning about what makes an impractical pet and finally an understanding between Mom and daughter. Though Mom never believed her when she fessed up to bringing a monster home, she came to see a little bit from her daughters perspective which opened the door to conversation and understanding rather than yelling. My own daughter has been begging for a pet for about 2 years and lord knows we’ve had our disagreements. So I feel like this story resonated in her little mind a bit and left her lots to think about when she fell asleep. It’s a very simple, easy reader story. But I enjoyed the depth the author captured in it and apparently so did my oldest.
 
 
1234Page 1 of 4



Message has been sent ...